Five Days of Diwali In India | Regional Names and Celebrations

Five Days of Diwali In India

Five Days of Diwali In India is the festival which its source to Hindu epic named Ramayana.

India is a diverse country with many cultures, religions, and languages makes traditions different in various part of the country.

People in each region celebrate it in their own style and their regional names of Diwali are different. Hindus, Jains, and Sikhs will celebrate this festival in accordance with their regional names of Diwali.

The basic concept of Diwali is the same, i.e the victory of good over evil and knowledge over ignorance.

Generally, Diwali is celebrated for 5 days and in other places, it is extended or less. However, There are many regional names for Diwali in India.

five days of diwali in India

Regional Names of Diwali as follows:

Even though Diwali has several regional names in India but the common thing in all places is that before Diwali celebrations people start cleaning houses and shops, prepare sweets, light up their homes and streets etc. and buy new clothes and ornaments.

Generally, five Days of Diwali in India starts from Dhanteras to Bhai Dooj. In some places, the celebrations will start two days before, i.e on Agyaras.


The Vaishnavas and Patels begin Diwali celebrations before Dhanteras, on the 11th day of Hindu month Ashwin.

In fact, the day is dedicated to preparing the snacks and sweets for Diwali.

Wagh Baras:

This day is significant for the women in the society. Women are worshipping and they buy clothes and jewellery.

Celebration of Five Days of Diwali in India:

However, there are several Regional names of Diwali according to their region the celebrations of five days of Diwali in India celebrations are as follows:

The first day:

It is familiar with the name Dhanteras

Dhanatrayodashi: People follow a Deepdaan ritual. Lamps are lit for every individual ancestor of the family and flown into a pond or river.

Yamadeepdaan: It is the name related to the sixteen-year-old son of King Hima. He was cursed to die but the devotion of his young wife made Lord of death Yama to return back.

Dhan Teyras: On this day, people keep fast and worship by lighting a Diya at the entrance of the house and offer rice, jaggery, Vermillion and flowers to Yamraj.

Dhanteran or Ashwayuja Bahula Trayodasi: In South, India Dahanatrayodashi is familiar as Dhanteran or Ashwayuja Bahula Trayodasi. On this day they buy new clothes, gold or silver, and utensils

Second Day:

Among the five days of diwali, it is Diwali on a smaller scale, people light up fewer diyas and burst fireworks in fewer.

Choti Diwali: Mostly North Indians celebrate Choti Diwali with fewer lights and fewer bursting of crackers.

Naraka Chaturdashi: The South Indian people worship  Lord Yama on this day to get over the fear of devil Naraksura. They make an image of Narakasura and burn it.

Roop Chaturdashi: North Indians celebrate Roop Chaturdashi and also they take a ritual bath and perform Meditation.

Kali Choudas: It comes prior to Diwali in India. However, on Kali Choudas people have a head bath and apply kajal in the eyes. It is to keep away the evil eye.

Kali Pooja or Mahanisha Pooja: Bengalis celebrate Kali Pooja, Mahakali appeared on this day with 64,000 yoginis.

Divali Panduga or divvela Panduga: It is one of the most important festivals of Andhra Pradesh that includes the story of Narakasura.

The third-day Diwali celebrations:

It is the actual Diwali day.

Lakshmi Poojan: Lakshmi Pooja is having great significance during Diwali. Almost People clean their houses decorate and lit up with diyas in order to welcome goddess, Lakshmi.

Chopda Poojan: People consider Diwali as a start of the new business year, so they will close all the accounts and offer to Lord Ganesha and Goddess Lakshmi during this Pooja.

Sukhsuptika: Kashmiris, call it Sukhsuptika, which means happiness and sleep.

Deva Divali: Among Jains, it is familiar as Deva Diwali. Jains worship Lord Mahavira, recite holy scriptures and homes and temples are lit up with lamps.

Kaumundi Mahostavam: Diwali is familiar as Kaumundi Mahostavam in some parts of Andhra Pradesh.

Badhausar: However, Gujaratis call it Badhausar. People decorate their houses with lamps, there is a belief that Goddess Lakshmi visits the homes which are well decorated and lit up.

Balindra Pooja: In some parts of South India, it is Balindra Pooja. People worship Lord Krishna in the morning.

Karthigai Deepam:  On this day, people draw Kolams (Rangoli) in front of the houses and place diyas.

Thalai Deepavali: In Tamilnadu, they call it Thalai Deepali, the first Diwali of newly married.

Sharda Poojan: The people involved in business and trade perform this Pooja to predict success.

Bandi Chhor Diwas: However, Sikhs celebrate Diwali as Bandi Chhor.

Diyari: Sindhis call Diwali festival as Diyari, and they perform Lakshmi Pooja on this day.

Fourth Day:

Celebrations on the fourth day of Diwali in India.

Govardhan Pooja: Devotees worship Lord Krishna and Mountain Govardhan on this day.

Bestavarsh: Hindus celebrate it as  New Year. On this day they wear new clothes and jewellery and visit their families.

Varsha Pratipada or Pratipad Padwa: Varsha Pratipada is another name for Govardhan Pooja, that commemorates the coronation of King Vikramaditya.

Annakoot:  Annakoot is celebrated by worshipping Lord Krishna and Govardhan parvath.

Bali Padyam or Bali Pratipada: Karnataka people celebrate it mainly, remembering the yearly visit of demon Bali to his subjects on the earth.

Muhurat Poojan: All business organizations perform muhurta Poojan.

Fifth Day of Diwali:

final day or the last day is to celebrate the bonding between brothers and sisters.

Bhai Phota: After two days of Kali Pooja, then comes festival Bhai Phota in Bengal. Sister keeps fast for their brother’s wellness and prosperity. So, they invite their brothers to houses.

Bhaubeej/ Bhav- Beej: Among Marathi people, call it as Bhaubeej

Bhai-Tika: Nepalis celebrate the last day of Diwali as Bhai-Tika. However, Sisters pray to Yamraj for their brother’s long life.

Bhathru Dwitiya or Yamadwithiya or Bhatri Ditya: Lord Yama pays a visit to his sister on this day, so it is known as Yamadwithiya. However, People celebrate it as the symbol of love and affection between brothers and sisters.

Gorehabba: A unique festival celebrates in the rural areas of Karnataka. Villagers play with cow dung on this day.

Related Festivals:

  • Kojagara: In some regions, Kojagara is celebrating to appease the goddess, Lakshmi.
  • Labh Pancham or Laakheni Panchami: The final day of Diwali festival is Labh Pancham. It is also familiar as Saubhagya Panchami.
  • Tulsi Vivah: It celebrates in Goa, enthusiastically with the preparation of special dishes apart from the five days of Diwali in India.

1 thought on “Five Days of Diwali In India | Regional Names and Celebrations”

Leave a Comment